Jill's Knitting World

March 3, 2010

Drum roll, please. . . .

Filed under: knitting — by Jill @ 4:02 pm

I have just completed knitting my very first scarf. Amazing, isn’t it?

Well, if you don’t think so, consider this: I first learned to knit in high school way back in the late ’60’s. An acquaintance taught me how to cast on using the backward loop method and then how to do the knit stitch. I was so thrilled with this new skill, I knit a gazillion headbands each from 4-6 stitches wide, all garter stitch (though I didn’t know that’s what knitting every stitch was called), and finished off by threading the tail through each stitch on the needle and pulling them tight. I didn’t know how to bind off. That was the extent of my newly learned skill.

When my daughter was about 18 months or 2 years old (I can’t clearly remember) I found a booklet with cardigans knit from the top down. Using the booklet and a how-to-knit book (from the library), I knit her a cardigan sweater and one for myself. I didn’t try knitting again until just a few short years ago.

Now, I’ve knit umpteen pairs of socks, a couple pairs of mitts, a shawl, several vests, several cardigans, and even a two-color stranded hat. Most newbie knitters that I’ve heard about knit a scarf as their initial project. Knitting a scarf never interested me; I never even thought about it. As a general rule, I don’t wear scarves. But, I saw a pattern for a little neck scarf that appealed to me as being reasonably quick and easy to knit, and as being something I might actually wear. What do you think?

Bow Scarf


I found the pattern on Ravelry. The only changes I made were minor. I used Calmer (less than 30 grams) with a size 5 needle. I also slipped the first stitch of every row because I wanted a neat edge. Not only did this little scarf only take me a couple of days to knit (I knit very slowly), but I’ve already worn it once.

Now, I feel like a real knitter.

2 Comments »

  1. congrats! I’m not a big scarf either. The first one I did, I dropped tons and stitches and it curled like mad…so I think that put me off for a decade. The bow scarf is very cut!e

    Comment by alltangledup — March 8, 2010 @ 5:44 pm |Reply

  2. Yeppers, since I am the recipient of lots of soft, warm socks,I thought that the bow tie scarf was very interesting. Jill’s also made me a super vest and a warm cardigan that I keep in my office for the coller than normal days.

    Comment by Alan — March 22, 2010 @ 11:34 am |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

