Jill's Knitting World

September 3, 2009

Day One

Filed under: knitting — by Jill @ 7:28 pm

My first public blog and my first post to that blog. Both are (or should be) special. I want this to be mainly about my adventures within the world of knitting, so I’ll start with my current project.

I’m knitting a pair of socks. To those who know me, this will come as no surprise. There is nearly always a pair of socks on a circular needle somewhere near me, if not in my hands. Socks are surprisingly easy to knit, they’re portable, it only takes me about two weeks to knit a pair, and they’re useful. Nearly everyone wears socks at one time or another so there’s always someone who needs a pair.

This current pair of socks is being knit from Mountain Colors Bearfoot in the Bitterroot Rainbow colorway. It’s a rather dark combination of reds, greens, blues, and oranges. Very autumny feeling and very wooly. The fiber content is a superwash wool, mohair and nylon so they should wear like iron. I started to make this pair for myself, but the yarn feels a little scratchy, so my husband volunteered to wear them when they’re done. Since they need a masculine appearance, I’m using a 2×2 rib that will transition into a 6×2 rib down the leg and top of the foot with plain stockinette on the sole and toe.

I’ve always used The Yarn Harlot’s basic sock pattern and have adapted it to suit myself. There’s barely any changes from the original, honestly, but it feels more my own now that I’ve used it to make umpteen pairs of socks. I’ve tried several times to make toe-up socks, but can never get the heel to fit comfortably. Toe-up makes sense, in that it would be easier to track yarn useage, but I’m getting by fairly well with guesswork and top-down construction. I haven’t run out of yarn too early yet.

Once I have this WordPress blogging down a bit better, I’ll figure out how to post photos of my work. For now, simple words will to suffice.

2 Comments »

  1. As the one who is benefiting from the knitting, absolutely no complaints. A little change here or there, kind of like being a manequin – the foot at least. Still, no comparison between my knitted socks and “store bought”. I’m glad that you’ve finally started your blog, since you have a lot to offer – ideas, the “been there, done that” aspect, and encouragement in general.

    Comment by Alan — September 8, 2009 @ 12:22 pm |Reply

  2. Heү there! This post couldn’t be written any better!

    Reading this post reminds me of my previօus room mate!
    He always kept talking about this. I woll forward this page to him.
    Fаirly certain he will haνe a ood read. Thɑnks for
    sharing!

    Comment by Fitness Apparel — April 5, 2017 @ 6:21 am |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

