Jill's Knitting World

September 30, 2009

Still here

Filed under: knitting — by Jill @ 12:09 pm

It’s been a number of years since I caught a cold or had bronchitis, but both caught up to me this past week. Since I couldn’t knit and blow my nose at the same time, the knitting was put down for a few days. I feel more like I’m going to live now, so knitting has commenced once again.

I’m mostly a sock knitter. Why? Because socks are simple, easy to knit, and a pair take about two weeks to complete if I’m diligent. Two weeks is about the length of my attention span for knitting projects. I get bored with the current one and start dreaming of the next. Sad, but true.

However, I’ve been wanting to try knitting a shawl for quite some time, but have never found a pattern that appealed on all levels. That has now changed. I found the perfect beginner shawl for me. Garter stitch and no point down the back. It is designed by Sivia Harding and it’s called Follow The Leader. (Once on her site, click on patterns and scroll through.) I’m knitting mine using KnitPicks Palette in the cornmeal colorway. The needles are the new Zephyr interchangable circulars, also from KnitPicks. I like the needles because they have absolutely no weight whatsoever. The only part I’m not overly fond of is that they’re clear. It’s difficult, sometimes, to see the tips against a lighter colored yarn for me.

KnitPicks Palette Cornmeal - Shawl

KnitPicks Palette Cornmeal - Shawl

I’m still knitting on the Mountain Colors socks. Concerned that I might run out of yarn, I stopped the first sock after I finished the instep and cast on the second sock. When they are both the same length, I’ll have a better idea of whether I’ll be needing a second skein, or not.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Toni Theme Blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

